8th Grade Interview Help

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by AChancetoTeach, Dec 14, 2005.

1. AChancetoTeach

AChancetoTeach Comrade

Dec 14, 2005

My degree is Early Childhood, but I am certified Generalist 4-8 also. All of my interviews so far have been for elementary positions. What might I expect from an interview for an 8th grade position? (I've applied for 8th Language Arts). Any ideas/advice you have would be greatly appreciated! Also, tips for behavior management. Thanks!:D :thanks:

3. Hermione

Hermione Rookie

Dec 15, 2005

With regards to the behavior management of 8th graders, you could browse through the "Behavior Management" section of threads on this site, or you could look through the threads in the secondary and elementary threads. I've learned from my shadowing that elementary students can be full of energy. They are also caught between puberty and childhood and so swing back and forth between maturity - or at least what they think is maturity :) - and immaturity. My best friend teaches 8th grade - she finds it difficult but also very rewarding. Good luck.

4. teachnyc

teachnyc New Member

Dec 15, 2005

I teach 7th grade Language Arts and love it. I really do not have any behavior issues. I am real with them I do not talk down to them, I am honest with them and I constantly include personal details, popular TV shows and their other interests into my lessons. As for the interview, I found that my principal was more concerned about my handling the upper grades as apposed to my teaching methods.

5. mshutchinson

mshutchinson Comrade

Dec 15, 2005

I'd say bone up on the ELA. That's what the 7th AND 8th grade english teachers in my building are constantly having shoved down their throats.

6. AChancetoTeach

AChancetoTeach Comrade

Dec 16, 2005

Thanks for the replies everyone! I'm going over our state standards for 8th grade ELA and your advice really helps!

7. NathalieBug

NathalieBug Rookie

Dec 17, 2005