7th grade reading

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by zus_123, Jul 10, 2006.

1. zus_123

zus_123 Rookie

Jul 10, 2006

I am new to teaching 7th grade reading. I have taught 23+ years but this will be a first for me teaching 7th grade and I am scared and needing lots of help!! Do guided reading groups work in 7th grade? What motivators do you use? How do you set up your room/room arrangement? What are the "must haves" you recommend? Is it 'hokey' to decorate my room using a theme? I hope I get lots of tips from you 7th grade experienced teachers! I REALLY need your ideas and help! :D Thanks!

3. ms.jansen

ms.jansen Companion

Jul 10, 2006

grouping ideas

I just did my student teaching in middle school math but spent a few days in the 7th grade literature class too. The kids loved group and partner work.

The 7th grade teacher had a reading buddy system where each student was given a clock at the beginning of the year with a different classmate's name written at each hour. She would just tell them to get with their ___ o'clock buddy for the day. It gave the kids variety of partners throughout the year, and nobody could feel left out because they didn't have a partner. It worked really well for her, you just have to coordinate everyone's clocks with 12 peers who they will work okay with. This could actually work for any subject.

Also, for each novel, the students has a specific reading group (assigned by teacher) that did not change. This way they could work on ongoing group projects, question packets, etc. I've also seen it where each group is reading a different book but by same author, in same genre, etc. and each "book club" eventually presents to the rest of the class.

Even with assigned groups/partners, the students definitely enjoyed working with others a lot more than by themselves!

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 10, 2006