7th Grade ELA--Writing Help PLEASE :)

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by nsatterfield, Aug 18, 2007.

1. nsatterfield

nsatterfield Rookie

Aug 18, 2007

My lovely district called all ELA teachers in on Friday afternoon and said that they would be giving Benchmark tests each 9 weeks this year. The first 9 weeks we are to cover the writing standards. That's it. That's all we get!

The problem for me is that I'm only a second year teacher and I feel that writing is my weakest link:unsure: . I saved the bulk for the end last year and just hoped and prayed my kids would pass the standardized state test. (92% BTW):D

Please help me out with ideas!:help: We start school tomorrow, the 20th. I know I have the first couple of days to talk about the class and procedures, but what do I do on Wednesday? I have no idea where to start!!!:eek:

3. LA/FLnewbie

LA/FLnewbie Companion

Aug 19, 2007

ay yay yi...

I hate the fact that schools push testing like this, especially for something like writing which should be creative and organic, not objectified. Oh well. I want to try the writer's workshop approach this year...so, in your situation, I might try it and combine it with intensive skills review...more specifically, maybe on one of your first days, have them write and then assess what the class' top five writing issues are and make those your mini-lessons for your first ten minutes of the next five days...then have students write freely some more each day practising the new skill...just an idea, good luck!

4. wig

wig Devotee

Aug 19, 2007

Creative is fine, but not all writing is creative, so I would save those types of assignments until after the test, since generally creative writing is not what they tend to test. Not sure about your state, but in mine, if they can write an organized 3-5 paragraph essay with an identifiable intro and conclusion, details going with the main idea and a transition between paragraphs., they score well.