7th Grade Classroom management

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by rockangel312, Jan 7, 2011.

1. rockangel312

rockangel312 Companion

Jan 7, 2011

I'll be starting a new position in a seventh grade classroom, and I am a bit nervous. Every teacher I talk to tells me that they would not want to teach 7th and that they are very difficult. My concern is that being a new teacher I don't have discipline mastered yet. I was thinking of doing some positive reinforcement in the classroom with tickets and a raffle system. However, after reading some of the posts on here I am concerned that it might not even work!
    I went into observe one particular class one day, and the teacher had to keep telling them to be quiet. I'll flip if I have to keep telling them. Whenever I have given the students a "talking to" it works for the rest of the day, but the next day it or day after it goes back to how it was.

Any suggestions for what works for the 7th grade age group? Strict, talking to them like an adult, anything else????

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jan 7, 2011

I taught 7th grade to the current Juniors, and we have a very special bond as a result.

7th grade is a very magical age. They're old enough to be treated as adults, but they can still enjoy things like kids.

They're very, VERY big on "fair." Once they see you as fair, you can really be incredibly demanding.

They have great respect for those who know their stuff, and no patience for those who don't. They'll keep you on your toes in terms of the material.

They loved when I did "adult" types of projects with them. So when we did simple interest, we 'bought' a house and figured out both the monthly mortgage payment and the total payback. We 'bought' a car. When we did proportions, I gave them a few choices from the IKEA catalog and let them design the bedroom of their dreams. We had British penpals and we did a project on currency exchange.