7th and 8th grade Art electives....

Discussion in 'Art Teachers' started by nasimi77, May 15, 2011.

1. nasimi77

nasimi77 Groupie

May 15, 2011

Hello Art teachers....

I was just recently hired as the K-8 Art Teacher at a different school within my district for next year! I am VERY excited! :) I have my bachelor's in Art Ed and this dream has been a looooong time coming! I have taught art a few times before in the past, but it was mostly K-5th. This new job I'm taking on is K-8th. I'd say I'm a bit nervous about 7th and 8th grade since I have not taught art to those grade levels before. I have been looking at the standards, and also talking to art teacher friends of mine. (including my dad who is a retired art educator). I have to come up with art electives for 7th and 8th grade for next year. I'm thinking about gong basic and doing drawing and painting, but I'm not sure. Was wondering if any of you had any ideas, suggestions, etc? Your input is always appreciated! I am excited to be joining this forum of Art teachers! :rolleyes:

3. NJArt

NJArt Comrade

May 21, 2011

Congratulations! 7-8 is a goofy age. haha can you only pick one subject for the elective? My school only goes up to 6th, but I know my 6th grade boys are never more focused then when they are doing sculptural projects. (I do a plaster project and a wood project with the 6th graders.)

4. nasimi77

nasimi77 Groupie

May 21, 2011

Thank you. :) I decided to go with Drawing/Painting, Ceramics, and Fiber Structure/Recycled Art. K-6th I will cluster by grades so I'm not prepping for 9 subjects! From working with elementary students for the past few years as a gen ed teacher I agree about the sculptural process. Seems a lot of kids need that option for hands on, 3-dimensional work. I'm going to be meeting with our current art teacher to do some planning together for next year. Looking forward to it. I'm excited about this change, but also overwhelmed. :rolleyes:Thanks for your input NJ!:thumb: