7/8 LA teachers - ? about AR

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by MrsCAD, Jul 18, 2006.

1. MrsCAD

MrsCAD Companion

Jul 18, 2006

This is my first year teaching and I am trying to plan out how to use the AR tests in my classrooms. Personally, I hate AR, but I know it is one of the necessary evils of it all! I have seen it used 2 ways:

1) Students have to earn so many points and there is a grade issued for the amount they receive. My problem with this is they can read simple books below their book and still earn the points needed.

2) Students have to take so many AR tests w/i each grading period and the grades on the tests are what is posted in the grade book. The students must read books on their reading level or they are penalized. I like this one, but I don't like penalizing them, maybe I could give incentives for reading at least one book over the reading level(?).

I'm not sure what I want to do, but I would really like some suggestions!

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 19, 2006

The first thing you need to do is take the official training from Renaissance Learning, or at least have a meeting with a teacher who has been trained. There is NOTHING any worse than an AR program that's not been properly implemented. It can be very, very harmful and turn kids off from reading.

Both methods you have listed above aren't recommended by Renaissance Learning. (I'm actually trainer, in case you were wondering.)

I'll give you an example of how our program works in our middle school. Students are given an initial placement in a reading level based on a reading test scores. We used STAR for years, but we also use MAP or another standardized reading test when needed.