6th Grade!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by Ms. I, Mar 29, 2006.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Mar 29, 2006

I'm student teaching (ST) in a 6th grade class for the next few months. I've never worked w/ this grade level before (nor 5th, 7th & up). I haven't done material at that level since I was in school myself (about 20 yrs. ago).

Does anyone know any sites, etc. that teach all the concepts I need to know w/o having to read pages & pages of info? I can look at the teacher's editions of their texts showing the answers, but I need to know how to teach & explain the info that I need to re-learn myself!

Pre-teens tend to have smart-alecky attitudes. I'll have to teach 5 lessons in different subjects, then solo teach for 2 wks at the end. What's the best behavior management & discpline to use? What do I do if they don't do what I tell them to do? I'd appreciate any help you can give throughout this quarter.

3. cinmcl61

cinmcl61 Rookie

Mar 29, 2006

I teach 6th grade - first year as a matter of fact and I love them. These kids relate to a sense of humor. And don't let these preteens fool you - I act out vocabulary words or have them do it. They still like these things. I always make connections when reading - to my own life or tell a story about one of my own kids - this gets them talking and connecting.
    As for discipline you need to find out the policies in that school. Our school uses PBIS. We reward good behavior and have a sort of 3 strikes and your out for problems.
    Lessons are something you have to search for. It depends on what you are teaching.
    I know this is probably little help - but remember 6th graders are awesome!

4. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Mar 30, 2006