6th grade Social Studies

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by nstructor, Aug 21, 2012.

1. nstructor

nstructor Cohort

Aug 21, 2012

This will be my first year teaching SS-I've been an English/Language Arts teacher for years. Any suggestions? Thank you!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 21, 2012

Get a copy of your standards and any teachers guides/resources that are used in your dstrict...map out a rough outline of your year...

Good luck and congrats on your new job!:thumb:

4. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Aug 21, 2012

:yeahthat: Find your learning outcomes and then start organizing your units. You'll find you can integrate a lot of ELA into social studies!

5. nstructor

nstructor Cohort

Aug 22, 2012

I have the standards, materials, etc. . just wanted suggestions of how you make 6th grade SS interesting and how you teach it using the text.

6. Maryhf

Maryhf Connoisseur

Aug 22, 2012

What's your basic curriculum? I'm new to SS also but have experience in other content areas. We do a unit on economics and then study world geography.

7. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Aug 22, 2012

What are the topics you are going to be covering? Social Studies is pretty broad, so you will probably get more advice if we have some specifics.

8. nstructor

nstructor Cohort

Aug 23, 2012

The curriculum consists mostly of the various early civilizations.

9. njteach41

njteach41 Middle School Social Studies Teacher

Aug 23, 2012

I'm teaching 6th/7th grade World History too, thats mostly early civilizations. I used to teach 4th grade, mostly LAL, so we are kinda in the same boat :)

We should exchange emails and help each other out and share resources as the year goes on? What state are you teaching in?

10. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Aug 23, 2012

6th grade Social Studies is so much fun! I taught 6th grade "Core" last year (LA/SS Core).