6th Grade Math

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CatfaceMeowmers, Jul 17, 2015.

1. CatfaceMeowmers

CatfaceMeowmers Companion

Jul 17, 2015

Hello teachers! I will be started my first year of teaching as a 6th grade math teacher. I am beyond excited.

So I know I have a great team, they have already been very welcoming and encouraging. The curriculum they use is online and it actually breaks the standards down into each quarter (4 quarters in the year). However, it doesn't give an "order" in which the standards are to be taught.

When I did student teaching, my cooperating teacher wanted to start with ratios and proportions; its what she always did. But the curriculum suddenly changed and she was "forced" to start with decimals. A bit strange...

So I've talked to other teachers and did some research and they all start with different things.

As a first year teacher, I know I will not get things right the first time. But I feel I am wasting the summer because I could be planning. I am just not certain what to plan. I would love to plan WITH the other 6th grade teachers, but none of them are answering my emails lol - I suppose they don't have to since it's summer...

So I am reaching out to more 6th grade math teachers, I have standards already laid out for each quarter, and I could go ahead and start planning the first quarter alone. Or wait until a few weeks before school and try to plan with other teachers.

I am also very worried about starting in the wrong place...A lot of the standards connect with each other, so no worries, but still...

I think I will be starting with a review of long division and multi digit multiplication, then go into decimals, then fractions. At least that's what it says I should do on the online curriculum x.x;

Thoughts?

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 17, 2015