6th grade English

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by dizzykates, Jun 3, 2008.

1. dizzykates

dizzykates Habitué

Jun 3, 2008

What is a 6th grade English job like? What kinds of lessons are you doing? Do you use technology, how? What should I know before getting into a job like this? Thanks!

3. andrea71981

andrea71981 New Member

Jun 4, 2008

Hello! I have been teaching 6th grade English for two years, and I absolutely love it. I usually teach three novel studies per year. I teach the literary elements with these: character, setting, plot, theme, point of view, conflict/resolution, etc. We also do daily journal entries with novels. I also teach a grammar unit, which includes the eight parts of speech, as well as, sentence types (imperative, declarative, exclamatory, and interrogative) and sentence structure (simple, compound, complex, phrases, clauses, etc.) We also teach a lot of writing. I do a unit on narrative, expository, persuasive, and descriptive writing. I love teaching 6th grade English because you can teach so many various topics in all kind of engaging ways! We do a business letter where we write letters to real companies, and the kids almost always get individual responses along with free products! I always try to relate everything we do to the "real world!" If you want any lesson plans or have any further questions let me know, and I can give you my e-mail address! You would LOVE a job like this! As far as technology goes...I use it almost everyday. We make PowerPoints, do Webquests, type our essays, research topics on the Internet, etc. My county also has Interactive Whiteboards, which are fabulous!

4. Writer02

Writer02 Companion

Jul 2, 2008