5th Grade

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by colormegreen, Jul 3, 2007.

1. colormegreen

colormegreen Rookie

Jul 3, 2007

Hi! I am new to teaching and will be teaching 5th grade. What can I expect or should I prepare for this grade? Especially behavior and class management - what has worked best in the past for others?

Thanks a lot!

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jul 3, 2007

4. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

5. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jul 3, 2007

To help me prepare for this grade (I taught kinder before), I read Tools for Teaching, a readers workshop book, currently reading a writers workshop book.

These are the things I've done so far to get ready for fifth:

I came up with my schedule.
    I put together an Information Parent Pack.
    I came up with classroom rules.
    I know how I plan to set up desks.
    I came up with reward systems (P.A.T, homeworkopoly, economy system, group points).
    I came up with about 10 student jobs
    I plan to have papers filed into their mailboxes (crate with files).
    One job I plan to have is reporter. This student will write what we did for the day. At the end of the month, I will compile their recodings to make a newsletter for parents (I hope parents will be more willing to read the newsletter if their darlings are the ones who write them).
    I created a website (not available online yet).
    I looked over my TE's. I will plan the first two weeks in great detail soon.
    I will do some long range planning soon.

Whew!!! There's more, but I'll stop there!

6. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

7. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 3, 2007

Expect that your students should have mastered multiplication, though some won't have. Make sure they practice at home and let parents know. Start early in the year on fractions - before you get to the chapter in your text. Use games, manipulatives, whatever.