5th grade inclusion teacher

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by montgm, Aug 24, 2007.

1. montgm

montgm Rookie

Aug 24, 2007

Hi! I got a job as a special ed. 5th grade inclusion teacher. This is my first year and I am a bit nervous. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

3. montgm

montgm Rookie

Aug 24, 2007

Any advice for a first year teacher?

4. darlindg

darlindg Rookie

Aug 25, 2007

Hi there -- I'm a new 5th grade teacher as well and also, from NY. I had to stop and say hello to a fellow New Yorker. What part are you teaching in? I'm in Brooklyn.

My class is part-time inclusion which is something totally new to me. I have 5 special ed students and a special ed teacher is in my room co-teaching 3 days a week for Math and ELA. She helps me to plan lessons the rest of the week. I have no experience with special ed so this is a whole new challenge for me. I would also love any helpful tips...

5. daddy'sgirl

daddy'sgirl Rookie

Aug 25, 2007

I'm also a 1st year inclusion teacher in 5th grade. Our school year starts on 8/27 and I would also greatly appreciate some advise.

6. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Aug 25, 2007

I merged the two identical threads. It is better to post a new thread in only one forum.

7. shouldbeasleep

shouldbeasleep Enthusiast

Aug 28, 2007