5th grade classroom management HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by Nikkizme, Aug 13, 2008.

1. Nikkizme

Nikkizme New Member

Aug 13, 2008

Hi,

I am a second year teacher and am returning to 5th grade. I would like some assistance on a better classroom management/discipline program. I tried clip pulling combined with table points and a classroom money system last year and, although my principal thought I did okay, I did not find it as effective as I would have liked.

I HATED the money system as it was a pain and I had issues with students stealing them and selling them for REAL CASH to other students. So, this plan went out the door.

Anyway, I really need some good solid ideas for keeping students on task and getting their classwork/homework completed.

I would like something that works for groups and something that works for individuals as well.

Please help :help:

3. MissHunny

MissHunny Comrade

Aug 13, 2008

I do 2 things, whole group and individual:

Individual- I give out blank raffle tickets (not the ones from the teacher store...they are overpriced) when I see students displaying above and beyond behaviors, being helpful to others, or being a good model of listening, transitioning quickly, etc.. The student then writes his/her name or # on it and drops it in a fish bowl (we have a fish theme that goes with the FISH philosophy). I just load up my pocket with some in the a.m. and it helps remind me to reward for all of those positive behaviors. When i need a special helper, or have some type of reward or priveledge to give, I pull a ticket from the bowl. This could be reading on a comfy chair during ind. reading (i have 4 chairs so there are 4 kids a day earing the privledge), running an errand, or winning a prize (i will pull about 5 tickets on friday for prizes). This is very similar to the "token system" that has been referenced often from this site:

http://mspowell.com/tokensystem.html