5th Grade Behavior Management

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by MrsHoot, Jun 7, 2009.

1. MrsHoot

MrsHoot Comrade

Jun 7, 2009

So I posted this in the 5th grade section but haven't gotten any bites. So I thought I would try here.

I'm a new teacher, got a job with 5th grade and would like to have a behavior management system in place for my students. I talked with one of the grade level teachers (who is leaving) about what she did. And she's been teaching for awhile, and really didn't have a system or need one. I feel as though I need one for me in order to be consistent and fair.

Here's one I came up with while laying in bed early this morning. =) I was thinking that I would like to have jobs for students and that they could earn classroom money for doing their jobs. They could lose money (a specified amount) for not turning/doing homework, or for not following rules. And then they could earn extra money for doing extra things like monthly challenges or doing something that shows a lot of character.

Would this be too complicated? I don't want it to interfere with learning activities, but I also think it would be good practice because they do biztown where they learn about banking and checks, etc.

I would then have something once a month (I think) where they could spend their money for lunch bunch, homework passes, sitting in the teacher's desk for the day, stuff along those lines.

Suggestions? Has anyone ever done something similar?

Thanks!

3. runnerss

runnerss Comrade

Jun 7, 2009