4th vs. 5th?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by yellowdaisies, Dec 11, 2015.

1. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Dec 11, 2015

I'm in a unique situation because my school is expanding next year (opening a new building) and we are adding classes at every grade level - so I can basically choose my grade level for next year.

Right now, I am in my second year teaching 5th at a K-5 school. I taught 1st at another school for my first two years, and am not interested in going back to primary.

I am considering 4th grade. I do love 5th, but I get along very well with the 4th grade teachers (we are going from 2 to 3 teachers in 4th and 5th), and I like their content fine. I think I may like their math and science content better. I would probably miss teaching colonies and the American Revolution. 4th is CA history, which I also like ok, but maybe not as much as I like U.S. Reading and writing seem pretty similar, with the exception of some books that are ok in 5th but may have content too mature for 4th.

What are some of the differences between 4th and 5th? I have a few in mind, but I'd like to hear from others, especially those who have taught both grade levels.

Thanks!

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Dec 11, 2015

4th graders are babies before Christmas! I taught 4th for three years before switching to 5th. I'll never go back to 4th if given a choice!

I think 4th is a harder transition for many than 5th. There is a huge jump from what is required of 3rd graders, not only work load wise, but with responsibility and reading to learn instead of learning to read.

4. shoreline02

shoreline02 Cohort

Dec 12, 2015

Even though my 4th grade S.S. curriculum is about Maryland, we still teach the American Revolution and colonies!

And just my own two cents - I would be more concerned with who my grade level team would be than choosing between the grades themselves. Not sure if that is something you would be able to know ahead of time.

5. readingrules12