4th Grade Teacher from North Carolina

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by RainStorm, Sep 1, 2010.

1. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Sep 1, 2010

I'm new to teaching 4th and I'm new to NC. I'm the only 4th grade teacher in my school, and I really could use some help. So if you are an experienced teacher in NC and wouldn't mind sharing some resources, I would greatly appreciate it.

3. NC Teacher 4

NC Teacher 4 Rookie

Sep 2, 2010

4th grade

Science...These ready made units are from DPI and cover all four of the Science goals.

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/curriculum/science/units/elementary/

Math

http://mathlearnnc.sharpschool.com/cms/One.aspx?portalId=4507283&pageId=5051238

Scroll down to the Week-by-Week Essentials, and you'll find some great math resources.

http://mail.clevelandcountyschools.org/~ccselem/?OpenItemURL=S04F8A721 Lots of resources here for all subjects

http://www.burke.k12.nc.us/Curriculum/Elementary_Links.htm Lots of resources

Let me know the resources for Writing, Reading, Science and Social Studies that you have, and I'll see if I can help you there. I'm willing to share. Have a great year.

4. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Sep 2, 2010

Thanks. I'm reading through it now. I really appreciate it.

Do you have anything to share on North Carolina history?

THANKS!

5. NC Teacher 4

NC Teacher 4 Rookie

Sep 4, 2010

NC

I started the year with "Where in the World?" It's about 7 pages from the Earth to our city. For the next two weeks, I will be teaching the 5 themes of geography. I use a graphic organizer for each of the themes. Since I only have 30 minutes, I do a theme a day. The second week, I give students a study guide for the assessment, which is a choice between making a collage of the 5 themes or a trifold of the 5 themes. I will have to come up with more ideas for assessing but students will be able to choose their type of assesmment.

6. NC Teacher 4

NC Teacher 4 Rookie

Sep 4, 2010

7. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Sep 5, 2010