4th block classroom management

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by riverdance85, Apr 7, 2013.

1. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Apr 7, 2013

Hello all,

I am a first year teacher asking what I can do about a rowdy, last period of the day class. They are very hyper and it is becoming difficult to keep them in sync with the rest of my classes. We spend a lot of time trying to get the energy level down so that we can continue with the lessons.

What are some tricks in getting a high energy class to calm down? Any patience tips? I teach Spanish 1 and 2. Most of my students are freshman.

Gracias

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Apr 7, 2013

I just started last week, but I could tell that the last period is a lot more rowdier than any other classes. These are the same students as I have earlier, although it's not exactly the same class, studets are mixed up. Other teachers tell me the same thing, that last period is the rouwidest over all. I think this is mostly because it's right after lunch, and they spend the 2nd half of their lunch playing basketball. When they come in they're tired, hyper, revved up, thirsty, sweaty and probably hungry again.

I have a system in each class so that students come in quietly, get a warm up and complete it on their own, quietly. This class takes too long to settle down. I think a quiet activity in the beginning of the class should be enough, so I think all I have to do is to make sure they are silent.
    Last week was my first week, so I didn't want to change 100 % of everything, and make them all silent, when they weren't before, but this week it will be like that.

So my advice would be to have them start with a quiet activity and have more independent / quiet work. I know it's Spanish, so you want them to be talking as much as possible, so I'm not sure how you would work that in :(

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Apr 7, 2013