3rd Grade Multiplication Timed Test

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ajd5160, Jan 10, 2011.

1. ajd5160

ajd5160 Rookie

Jan 10, 2011

I am looking for an opinion on the amount of time that 3rd grade students should be given for multiplication timed tests. I am an inner city school teacher (3rd grade) who gives timed tests each week. The tests are 25 questions and my students have 3 minutes (5 seconds per).

My nephew is a third grade student. He attends an affluent school district. His timed tests are 40 questions in 2 minutes (2 seconds per).

I feel like this is not a lot of time and the issue is personal because he is not passing (only 5 kids did in the class- a note was sent home). He is able to say the facts with flashcards with reasonable speed.

I am looking for opinions. What is the goal of timed tests at this stage, in your opinion? I feel as though it is to measure the students ability to figure the problem out in a reasonable amount of time and speed will come. Am I not challenging my inner city students enough?

3. a2z

a2z Virtuoso

Jan 10, 2011

My opinion will probably be different than most.

Do the students know the times tables untimed? If not, you are giving them an exercise in futility and wasting your time. You don't learn something in a pressure environment such as a timed test. You just cause anxiety and documentation that they don't know what you know they don't know. Focus your time on accuracy and repetition instead of speed.

If you must do a timed test - required by school, have them try to beat their best time instead of an arbitrary time. Or utilize the time to build fluency on the ones you know they know. More work for you but more success for them in the long run.

4. 3Sons

3Sons Enthusiast

Jan 10, 2011