3rd grade issues

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by TheFlash545, Jan 21, 2019.

1. TheFlash545

TheFlash545 New Member

Jan 21, 2019

Hi. I'm new to the forum

I'm a third grade teacher and it's my first time teaching lower primary. I have a student who doesn't respect me. When I take him out to talk to him about misbehaviour he just says OK, OK, OK sorry. When he is out with the children he misbehaves with he laughs and makes jokes, when my back is turned he pretends to kick me. In class when I teach he makes jokes and distracts everyone he can. He interrupts and says stuff that isn't polite or helpful. He gets up and jumps around. I have no idea how to Stop it. Please help me with ideas. I've talked to parents I've talked to him, I've had him stay after school, at break... Etc but... I dunno how to work with him. And it's starting to effect the others. We have three kids who misbehave frequently together. But I think if I can reign in this one the others will follow

3. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Jan 21, 2019

I would choose a few things and stick with them. Behavior changes take time and a lot of consistency. He sounds like a handful too. I'd start with these 3.

1. This age students love to help and especially if they see the task as "special". If you can get him to help sharpen pencils, be in charge of straightening desks, passing out papers to go home etc. Some important job.

2. Choose a consequence that you can follow through with--missing some recess etc.

3. Focus on a specific disruptive behavior in class. Usually getting him to raise his hand and not interrupt or stay in seat can be a huge help. Time him and see if he can go 15 or 20 minutes with not interrupting, if so he earns 2 extra minutes of recess for the class and all applaud. If not, he resets the timer and tries again.