3-4 digit by 2-digit multiplication

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by MrCCES, Mar 16, 2008.

1. MrCCES

MrCCES New Member

Mar 16, 2008

I am currently a student teacher in a fourth grade classroom. I am suppose to create a lesson plan to teach my students how to multiply 3-4 digit numbers by 2-digit number. I am desperate for any fun ideas of how to teach it. My mentor teacher keeps telling me that I need to find ways to keep the students engaged. Please respond ASAP!

3. Steph-ernie

Steph-ernie Groupie

Mar 16, 2008

I don't know of any "fun" ways to teach that - in my experience, that's one of those things that requires lots and lots of practice. I always start off with a sample problem, let's say 1234 x 56. I show them the expanded form of doing it first - (1234 x 50)+(1234 x 6). We talk about how 56 is 50+6, so I use that knowledge to lead them through the steps of 1234 x 56. Once they have the basic concept down, keep them engaged by having students come up to the board to do problems. Divide girls against boys for who can get more right on the board, or use the groups they're sitting in as teams, etc. Give the same problem to two students, one solves it at the board, and the other on their papers. The one solving it on paper gets to be the teacher who decides if the one on the board was done correctly or not. Have the students work on them individually before showing them at the board, and then have them all give you a thumbs up or down if they think it is correct or not. Just getting them up and out of their seats doing the math problems will do wonders for keeping them engaged in the lesson. Good luck.

4. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Mar 16, 2008

I've been teaching the same way as Steph. It has worked well. They have to have a very good understanding of the single digit and of place value first. We haven't gone into more than 2 x 2 digit in my class though. We just do lots and lots of practice.

5. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Mar 16, 2008