2nd Year teacher in need of advice

Discussion in 'High School' started by kng5028, Aug 10, 2011.

1. kng5028

kng5028 New Member

Aug 10, 2011

Hello,

I apologize for this being long, but I am truly in search of outside advice and opinions, as I am struggling with the thought of entering my second year of teaching. I am a high school mathematics teacher, and I teach mostly general level classes. Last year was an extremely rough experience. I had 2-3 AWFUL classes with multiple behavioral and academic issues. One of those classes didn't even give me a chance to instruct my procedures and set up discipline guidelines on the first day; they were out of their seats, yelling at girls in the hallway, yelling across the room, and mocking things I was saying. Over the course of the year, and even within the first month, the excitement and thought of teaching quickly diminished and I was completely miserable. I could not get the students to behave like young men and women. I could not get the students motivated to learn or to complete classwork, homework, etc... I tried everything from switching seats, to sending in the hall, detentions, sending to principal, to group work, to individual work, etc... NOTHING and I mean NOTHING could get these kids to take responsibility of their learning and behavior. It got to the point where I gave them outlined notes each day, and all they had to do was fill them in. They couldn't even do that; I would find blank notes scattered across the floor after class. And it also got to the point where I literally had to grade EVERYTHING in order for them to do work. All of this led me to working at least 60 hours a week; all I could think about is school. It consumed my life. Every once in a while I would try different activities and everything always backfired. It seemed that having a set and monotonous schedule was really the only thing that worked, even though students complained that we weren't doing anything fun or different.