2nd grade questions

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by flutterbye, Dec 18, 2010.

1. flutterbye

flutterbye Rookie

Dec 18, 2010

I'm a relatively new teacher. All of my experience has been in Kindergarten (1.5 years) and Head Start(2 years). I was just hired to start teaching a 2nd grade class after the Christmas Break. I am very nervous about coming into a class where all the students will have had to be transitioned into my room from other teachers, having no experience with children of this age (other than having a couple of them of my own), and being in a new school where I don't know the procedures used.

I've been reading over 2nd grade state standards and looking up lesson ideas for those standards, I know the other teachers in my grade group will be willing to help out and that they will have some strategies I can adapt, but I'm still feeling unprepared.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to ease the transition for both the students and myself? In my Kindergarten classroom we only really had one rule "Be Kind" should I keep that or do an adaptation of what the other teachers had that the kids would be more accustomed to? In Kindergarten we 'move tickets' or pull colors, but 2nd graders may be more mature and respond better to more sophisticated classroom management methods, what has been effective for other teachers?

3. teachgrade5

teachgrade5 Comrade

Dec 18, 2010

You can still move tickets or pull colors at the second grade level...it is not inappropriate.