2nd Grade Help!!!

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by Nenj4, Jun 11, 2009.

1. Nenj4

Nenj4 New Member

Jun 11, 2009

I have been teaching 1st grade for the last 3 years and have been "promoted" to second grade for the upcoming school year. I am a little nervous, as I have zero experience with second graders. I was hoping that some teachers with second grade experience might be able to give me some tips. A big question I have is about the paper I use for writing. I am considering using wide-ruled notebook paper for writing, instead of the paper with the very wide lines and a dotted middle line. What does anyone think of this? Can a second grader handle this type of paper? What other ideas or tricks does anyone have for me?

3. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Jun 11, 2009

2nd grade is a great year. I used to teach it and enjoyed it thoroughly.

As for paper, I used the handwriting paper at the very beginning of year, but quickly transitioned into wide-ruled notebook paper during the first few weeks. I would not advise college-rules paper though.

4. Newto3rd

Newto3rd Companion

Jun 11, 2009

2nd grade is grade!! As far as the curriculum, 2nd grade is a review and more in-depth of what you've already taught in 1st. You will love it! They can do so much on their own! They still love you though. They love to be read to. They love to be "big kids" too. They like a lot of things that your 1st graders like. Think that they're the same kids you let go at the end of the year, so you actually know where they are.

We use tablet paper for the first 1/2 of the year. (Many are ready to write on wide ruled notebook paper within a couple of weeks but we bought a ton of tablet paper, so we tried to use it up.) They're great helpers and love to help you and other students. I always love how they can teach their peers when they're not getting it from me!

You'll do a great job! Congratulations!

5. JoviHawk

JoviHawk Rookie

Jun 25, 2009