2ND grade fact families

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by shrinkingviolet, Sep 21, 2005.

1. shrinkingviolet

shrinkingviolet Rookie

Sep 21, 2005

Hi,
    I am a new teacher who is teaching turn around facts and fact families to my second grade class. They understood the turnaround facts, but when we got to subtraction in the fact families, it fell apart. Sometimes they write math sentences such as 1+8= 9, 8+1=9, and then 1-9=8, then 9-1+8.
    We have used dominos, unifix cubes, and I have explained that with subtraction, we need to start our math sentences with the biggest number in our fact families. Any other suggestions? I really want them to understand these concepts.
    Thank you.

3. jcg

jcg Cohort

Sep 21, 2005

Here's a saying: When you're adding Flip, Flop, it only matters that the smalls are on top. When you subtract, Flip, Flop, it only matters that the big one's on top! It's silly, but for some it helps!

4. pamms

pamms Comrade

Sep 22, 2005

fact families

It's scary sometimes...the stuff they don't get..isn't it...especially when we think of the testing that is coming their way.

I have not usually had too much trouble with fact families, but then again...this year we are leveled for math and I don't have the struggling class. We do fact families every day in either mountain math or Drops in the Bucket (LOVE drops in the bucket...you all MUST get it!) anyway..
    I think doing it some everyday rather than as a unit sometimes helps. I always point out that each fact family has 2 addition and 2 sub problems (except for doubles)and that the answers have to be correct. I do a few examples and NON-examples on the brd and talk about why they don't work. With some topics, I actually find that manipulatives confuse them more than help...it depends on the concept and the kids tho.

Pam

5. janlee

janlee Devotee

Sep 22, 2005