2nd grade advice needed

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by kariebear04, Jun 12, 2009.

1. kariebear04

kariebear04 New Member

Jun 12, 2009

I am a 4th grade teacher moving down to 2nd grade next year. I'm looking to start buying and collecting things for my 2nd grade class. What are the things, games, books, books that kids love or series, centers, manipulatives, or ideas that you just couldn't live without in a 2nd grade room?

Thank You so much for all your help!

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jun 13, 2009

Henry and Mudge series books
    Weird School Series books
    Cam Jansen series
    Magic Treehouse series

Count-down (It's a game -- you can often find it at Target.)
    Money Bags (It's a game from Learning Resources)
    Dino Math Tracks (It's a place value game -- just don't use the 1,000s column.. they only do ones, tens, and hundreds in 2nd grade.)

StarFall Level II Journals. They are great for the beginning of the year -- big ruled lines, word banks with pictures... great.

Magnets and objects that will be attracted to magnets

World Puzzles (Dollar Tree)

Dice -- for all kinds of place value dice games (cheap at the dollar store)

A zillion replica animals. Make foam mats labeled with various habitats (desert, ocean, rainforest, grassland, etc) and students can sort the animals by habitat. This is my most used center.

If you use tables, get a set of privacy screens from Lakeshore Learning or ReallyGoodStuff. Kids at this age don't fully comprehend that "wandering eyes" are cheating. I use them for important testing -- so I can figure out what each student knows.. not what their neighbor knows! They come in a set of 12 -- but you only need one for every other student.

BEAR binders -- called a bunch of other things.. STAR binders, MOOSE binders. Do an internet search if you aren't familiar with them. Invaluable.