2 Year Old Class

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by lovely222, Aug 31, 2014.

1. lovely222

lovely222 Rookie

Aug 31, 2014

I took an offer to teach in a 2 year old class and I believe that I have made a huge mistake. :lol: I have never worked with 2 year olds before. I have mainly worked with prek4.

I have a group of 11 2 year olds and I am the only teacher in the classroom. I have to change their pull-up every hour, even if they are not wet. I have a few 2 year old students who are new to the idea of being in a classroom and are not following directions well. How do you handle 2 year olds when you have to be four different places at the same time? I also feel like I spend my entire day changing diapers. lol But I love to teach and do not get to do a lot of it at all in this classroom.

I am so confused as to whether I want to stay at this center or look for a different job. I also have a director who comes in and out of my room (babying my students) throughout the day. Then all 11 expect me to do the same thing at the same time. She completely messes up the flow of what I am doing in the class because when she comes in they immediately stop what they are doing and go to her. Many of the people on the staff feel the same way I do. One day last week, she was not at the center and it was a much better day for me. She also compares me a lot to the last teacher who was in the room...OMG I really dislike to be compared to anyone else. That gets old and she does it EVERYDAY!

Please :help:

3. eternalsaudade

eternalsaudade Companion

Aug 31, 2014