2 job offers what should I do?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by shanbam8, May 18, 2020.

1. shanbam8

shanbam8 New Member

May 18, 2020

I'm a recent college graduate applying for my first teaching job and after my first interview, I was offered the job! I was really excited but I have yet to receive an official offer or much information at all from the district. That was about a week and a half ago. In the meantime, I read that I should keep interviewing until I have an official offer on paper so I did and I was just offered a second position in a district I am less interested in and I am not sure what to do.

I am just wondering how long does it take after a principal offers you a position to receive an official offer from the district?

Should I decline the other position and how can I do that in the best way without looking bad to the principal or district? or should I wait until I hear more from the first job?

Being a first-year teacher I feel a little lost in this process and don't want to do anything wrong so any advice you have would be helpful!

3. CaliforniaRPCV

CaliforniaRPCV Companion

May 18, 2020

If you don't have an official offer on paper, I wouldn't offer an official decline. So you have an official offer on paper from the second position, or is it another verbal? It's a bit nerve wracking, but I'd delay until I got the max info I could.

shanbam8 likes this.
  4. shanbam8

shanbam8 New Member

May 18, 2020

Both were just verbal, that's what makes the situation so confusing. I'm leaning towards declining the second offer because it's not in my preferred location, but I know as a first-year teacher I should be thankful to even have offers from 2 schools, so I don't want to decline the position and then possibly end up without a job at all.

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

May 18, 2020

First of all congratulations !!