1st Year Middle School SS

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by mrshistory, Jul 16, 2010.

1. mrshistory

mrshistory Rookie

Jul 16, 2010

So, I am a newbie! This will be my first year teaching full-time in middle school history. I would greatly appreciate any advice on textbook reading. In my idealistic mind I would love to see my 8th grade class work like this:

--Students read about a section worth of the textbook while completing a notes study guide or guided reading assignment (20 minutes) PRIOR TO CLASS
    --Students come to class and begin with a bellringer related to their reading (while textbook reading work is stamped for accountability and then collected at the end of the chapter for points)
    --The class period is used to re-enforce what they have learned through group and classroom activities, discussion, active learning, technology/media, etc.
    --Repeat!

Nightly textbook reading in this scenario is simply an opportunity to gain some context or a jumping board for classroom discussions or activities.

What I have been reading though, from the perspective of many educators, is that homework should all be review or review of the day's classroom material, NOT introduction of material that has not yet been covered in class.

Thoughts? Opinions? Is my ideal textbook/homework set-up unrealistic or not as effective as I may think it would be?

3. KateL

KateL Habitué

Jul 16, 2010