1st Classroom Christmas

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by MissTexas, Nov 20, 2006.

1. MissTexas

MissTexas Rookie

Nov 20, 2006

Well this is my first year teaching, and I was wondering what you guys do for Christmas. Do you allow for a gift exchange? I am kind of skeptical about this particular ritual because there will always be that one student who forgets to buy their gift for someone. I was also wondering what you guys give your students? I would like to purchase books for my students but don't know where I can get a good deal. Any comments and/or suggestions would be appreciated!

3. lteach2

lteach2 Cohort

Nov 21, 2006

I ask my students to bring in $1 gifts from the dollar store or wal-mart. If their parents are busy and can't go out to get the gift, they can bring $1 and I'll go buy it for them. If someone doesn't bring one for whatever reason, it's only $1,so I'll buy a few extras. Last year I gave my children activity books.

4. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Nov 21, 2006

check out oriental trading company for gifts to give your students.

5. TXTCHR29

TXTCHR29 Cohort

Nov 21, 2006

We do "Penny Gifts". Students will buy the same gift for all students such as; pencils, erasers, bubbles, candy canes, playdoh, etc. Each student makes a gift bag (a plain brown gift bag and then we put a picture of a reindeer on the front, and add a red pompon or button for the nose). On the day of our party the students will put one gift into each bag. This has always worked well for us. The students all get the same gifts, and if someone doesn't bring a gift, its not a big deal and the other students don't know who didn't bring something.

As far as gifts to my students, I give them books that I have received from Scholastic.

6. vannapk

vannapk Groupie

Nov 21, 2006