17 Esl kids in kindergarten and no assistant

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by tamikins, Sep 30, 2009.

1. tamikins

tamikins Rookie

Sep 30, 2009

hey
    im new at teaching and i started teaching kindergarten this year. at the beginning of the year i had around 14 students which i managed to work and keep some order in class. Now i have 17 kids...these new kids do not speak English or no anything abot English and im expected to teach them to read words in the middle of the year.im goin to talk to the principle about it tomrrow but i was wondering if there is any ideas or tips about my situation!

3. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Sep 30, 2009

I have no suggestions, but I wish you luck. Sounds like a very challenging year.

4. letsteach

letsteach Comrade

Sep 30, 2009

I have 24 in my class, 2 of whom are not ESL the rest are!! They range from fluent bilingual to no English at all. The good thing is that the younger the child, the easier it is for them to learn English and they will become fluent in 5 to 7 years. What to do now? Start by developing an oral language program. This would start off with my name is, numbers, colours, vocabulary (pen, pencil, glue, etc), directives (write, draw, sit down, stand up). simple present tense (I like, I can, he likes, she can), comparatives (bigger than, smaller than), present progressive (I am jumping, I am running), and so on. Groups can be done as a whole class where everybody is learning the mathematical concept of comparatives or small groups when the oral language component becomes a centre. From experience, ESL children will watch and observe those who know what to do but still need guided. Model everything and keep the steps simple and a few. Teach the phonics, writing letters and lots of phonemic awareness activities. When writing anything and everything say aloud the words you are writing as separate phonemes.

I have lots of props and visuals which keeps their attention on the lesson.