“Primary instructional?”

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by CoffeeCat27, Dec 31, 2019.

1. CoffeeCat27

CoffeeCat27 Guest

Dec 31, 2019

Hi, I’m very new to this world (December 13th), and I have a question in Frontline (AESOP). The subject/grade is not always displayed, but one available job says “primary instructional” where the grade or subject would be. It’s a school of grades 3-5, if that matters. Any idea what this means? It’s really tough not having an idea what you’re signing up for, so I try to only take jobs that do specify the grade or subject (there’s so much uncertainty in this job as it is). But that’s not always possible. Thanks!

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Dec 31, 2019

In my area, this could mean that you would be covering a variety of classrooms throughout the day while teachers are involved in meeting or PD.

CoffeeCat27 and CherryOak like this.
  4. CoffeeCat27

CoffeeCat27 Guest

Dec 31, 2019

Ah, thank you! I’ve seen the term “floating substitute” used for jobs covering teachers’ meetings, but this was the first time I saw this term. I had signed up for the job already because I’m new and have the attitude of “learn by experience,” but now I feel much better about this day!

5. Obadiah

Obadiah Groupie

Jan 1, 2020

I'm not sure, either, but it struck me funny that grades 3-5 would contain the term "primary", usually reserved for grades pk-3. Grades 3-4 are a transitional grade (in terminology). To make my post more confusing (sorry), when I was growing up in the 60's, elementary was K-6. Now 6th and sometimes 5th are middle school. I've also seen "intermediate" used for grades 4-6.

6. CoffeeCat27

CoffeeCat27 Guest

Jan 2, 2020