“Lead” Teacher Power Trip

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Amonet0173, Oct 25, 2017.

1. Amonet0173

Amonet0173 Guest

Oct 25, 2017

Hi all! This is my first time posting, I came across the forum looking for advice on an issue and thought I’d reach out. My name is <redacted by moderator> and I teach pre-k I at <school redacted by moderator>. I started here about a year ago as a toddler room assistant but after leaving for the summer I returned and was promoted !

I have a special place in my heart for this school as I attended and graduated from here as a kid. My current issue is, My “Lead” teacher. I was familiar with her harsh ways when I worked there prior but never experienced her first hand. But OH MAN.. my first week I was so excited to implement lesson plans I had and I was quickly shot down. As she let me know she was in charge and she chose the children’s works. She complains a lot about what the kids don’t know as opposed to working with what they do, and overall she’s just a lazy teacher. All of her so called lesson plans are photo copies of work from previous teachers ranging from years 85-2011 ( i kid you not)
    Some work I even remember doing as a kid.

The first collision with her was about these supplies we received. If you’re familiar with the mother goose time curriculum. If not it’s essentially everything you need for a school year , lesson plans and materials included ! I found out and asked why we weren’t doing these things and she told me that she only used the things for arts and crafts on fridays (the Only day we do crafts). Other than that M-T her “lesson plans” consist of each week having a letter, number, and shape and doing worksheets that consist of tracing and coloring. That’s is all.