A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > High School

Old 07-19-2009, 12:10 AM
Companion

the South
High School Teacher
Interactive notebook for English

I have a new job this year - teaching 10th grade English in a program for struggling students. I am just beginning to research interactive notebooks, and they sound like a good idea. I'm just worried that this might be too juvenile for my students. Most of the examples I've seen appear to be middle-school or younger.

I don't have many details yet, except I know we'll be doing literature and working on the TAKS objectives. I don't think there is a curriculum for grammar or vocabulary, but I plan on incorporating those into the literature. Has anyone used interactive notebooks for high school students?

Old 07-26-2009, 05:09 PM
Rookie

North Carolina
High School Teacher
Hey ambritlit,

Like you, I will be implementing ISNs in my high school classroom. However, I teach Spanish. I figure first semester will be trial and error since, as you said, most of the examples for younger students or history classes. I have decided on a rubric and finishing up my handout for the notebook. I am not sure how my students will receive this but I think it will be easier on everyone!
Old 07-26-2009, 11:29 PM
Rookie

Texas
High School Teacher
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the forum as well as this concept. It looks like a pretty cool idea. I am a first year 10th grade W. History teacher and I think this would be interesting to at least try and see if works well. How would ya'll score this or would you score it? If not well how do you know they are doing it?