A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Elementary Education Archives

Old 03-04-2005, 04:47 PM
Rookie

6th Grade Teacher
Exclamation Animal & Plant unit 2nd grade

I am a student teacher...I am in the second grade now and I have to teach a unit on animals and plants.. I have to teach the unit for 10 days; I guess I can teach animals for 1 week and plants for 1 week...I was just in the 6th grade, so it is kinda hard to go from tests, tests, tests, to arts and crafts in the second grade, etc. aahhhh!!! I was hoping that anyone will have some cute lessons, crafts, books, or any other ideas relating to plants and animals... THANKS!!!!

Old 03-05-2005, 08:12 PM

Way down south in Dixie!
Was PreK SPE, now HS SPE.
http://bcmnc.blount.k12.al.us/gardening_links.htm you can find plant ideas on there.

http://bcmnc.blount.k12.al.us/zoo_animal_links.htm zoo animal stuff on here.

http://bcmnc.blount.k12.al.us/links.htm other theme topics can be found on there!

Lori
Old 03-06-2005, 04:05 PM
Novice

Indiana
For teaching the kids about animals, I have seen 2nd grade students create the biomes of a certain animal in a shoebox. They can use playdough, construction paper, etc. They love it! When they talked about plants, they were able to actually plant flowers/plants outside and in the classroom. You can teach them how to take care of them and measure to see how much they grow. I also get alot of lesson plan ideas from www.lessonplanspage.com. Check it out if you want. Good luck!
Old 03-06-2005, 04:15 PM
Devotee

New York
Graduate Student