A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Job Seekers

Old 07-10-2009, 04:48 PM
Connoisseur

Houston, Texas
Self-Contained K-4 EBD
Interview & Demo Lesson for Third Grade

Hey y'all! I received a call yesterday requesting an interview for a third grade position at a charter school. The interview is next Wednesday at 11 o'clock.

I was told to be prepared to present a 10-15 min. demo lesson on any subject area and for any grade level. A demo lesson during an interview is something I've never done before. I know I'm more than capable because of the numerous lessons I was evaluated on throughout student teaching, which all went off really well with the students, my mentor teacher, and my supervisor. I feel as if I can win them over more so with being able to present a demo lesson and not just interview. I'm confident, but this is still new for me.

I'm almost certain that I'm only interviewing and presenting my demo lesson to the principal because when I asked what times were available to interview, the secretary told me anytime M-F. Well, if there were more staff members on the interviewing team, they would really have to have set interview times. So, this makes me start to wonder if I should present my demo lesson in the sense that I go over all the steps, some of the motions, yada yada or should I completely go into teacher mode and pretend the principal is a student?