A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > College

Old 05-18-2009, 02:22 PM
Rookie

California
High School Teacher
Blackboard, Moodle, online courseware...

I am not a college professor, but because these systems seem more common in higher education, I thought I'd ask here.

I am a math teacher and have a "stand alone" subscription to support my course with Blackboard as part of a pilot project in the high school where I teach. I had a one day training session and feel comfortable with the product overall, but I have struggled with the online assessment tools. Students have gotten frustrated by being timed out of testing sessions and by the formatting of mathematical expressions in the automatic grading of assessments. Any tips or experiences that would help me.
My school's tech dept seems to think that as a school, Blackboard should be adopted to provide students with the full variety of options available, but I have my doubts. After the first year of piloting, only 4 of the 9 faculty are using it for a second year.
I am just looking for reactions and feedback from experienced users.

Old 05-18-2009, 03:17 PM
Connoisseur

Louisiana
CHEMISTRY
I used Blackboard for 6 years at my last school and did minor assessments using Blackboard. I now use Moodle. There are programs that can be used to prevent students from using other materials on the computer, copying the questions and e-mailing them. I did not use Blackboard or Moodle for major tests because like you said the formatting was a pain. I would not pay for nor recommend anyone pay for Blackboard when Moodle does exactly the same thing for free. At my new school, several teachers are also doing a piolet of Blackboard. I did not do it because my principal already knows how I feel about it.

Last edited by chemteach55; 05-18-2009 at 03:22 PM. Reason: hit send too soon!!