A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Job Seekers

Old 04-24-2009, 06:09 PM
Companion

Substitute Teacher and Job Seeker
Too long ago to use as reference?

Since I am getting back into teaching after an absence, I was going to use my supervisors from my current job and my previous job as references. However, I am quite worried about this now because while they can vouch for my demeanor and work ethic, they can't say anything about my teaching skills.

I've been thinking about contacting my former cooperating teacher from when I was a student teacher, and while I was in her class for 16 weeks, that was four years ago. I'm afraid this is too long, and she won't remember me.

What does everyone else think? Too long? Or, if not too long, what should I say? I don't want her to feel bad if she doesn't remember me.

Old 04-24-2009, 06:22 PM
Virtuoso

I would contact her and see what she remembers about you and if she were willing to give you a positive reference I would probably use her so that you have someone who has seen you teach.

You could just e-mail her, tell her who you are, what you have been doing since the last time you talked, then how you are looking to get back into the teaching profession and were wondering if you could use her as a reference to support your candidacy when applying to districts and just say something about if she is not comfortable with that since it was so long ago that would be fine.
Old 04-24-2009, 10:33 PM
Connoisseur

NE Illinois
Elementary Teacher
What ARE you doing now? By chance...are you subbing?

You could have a principal watch you teach and write you up an observation report.