A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Elementary Education

Old 04-18-2009, 08:37 AM
Cohort

1st Grade Teacher
Two Word poems-- help!

Happy Saturday!

I'm starting a new job on Monday as a first grade teacher. The old classroom teacher wrote out lesson plans, homework assignments, etc., for me for this week. For the most part, I feel prepared to take over, but their writing assignment for the week is to write two word poems. I feel like a moron asking this, but can anyone explain what students are to do? What are the guidelines? I've never done this before and the info I'm finding online seems all over the place.

Thanks in advance!!!

Old 04-18-2009, 11:46 AM
Phenom

Texas
Kindergarten Teacher
Congratulations on the job!

The only thing I can think of is what they call "Hink Pinks"

Here's a link to what they are:

http://http://www.education-world.com/a_lesson/TM/WS_sponges.shtml

I've never heard of 2-word poems. My thought would be if you are officially taking over the class, I don't think it would hurt anything to substitute another writing activity that you were more comfortable with addressing the same objective. Good luck!
Old 04-18-2009, 11:49 AM
Connoisseur

Ohio
I'm not sure, either, but I think I would focus on using really descriptive language.

I once wrote a one word poem. I wish I could think what the form was called, but I learned about it in college when a poet came to our Writer's Forum and shared some. I'll have to see if I can dig it out from my old files.

It's not something I'd think to do with first graders, though!
Old 04-18-2009, 05:06 PM
Rookie

Australia
Primary Elementary Teacher
The only two word poem i can think of is Fleas by Odgen Nash.
Adam
Had'em
Old 04-18-2009, 07:01 PM
Aficionado

OREGON
I used to do a simple Haiku type lesson with PK. Is that what she means?

I would do something like:

Sun
Bright Yellow