A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Elementary Education

Old 01-20-2009, 07:56 PM
Companion

Portland, Oregon
Show and Tell... ideas?

I am a first year teacher teaching first grade. I am trying to find a solid way of doing show and tell. I tried to get ideas through the search engine on here, but didn't really find much.

Currently, I have the student stand at the front of the class to show their item and tell about it, then the teller gets to choose 3 people's questions and after that, they walk around the room showing it to people who didn't get to see. This takes way too long. I'd really love to have one show and tell per day (I think I'll make a chart) and have it last no more than 5 min max.

I don't want to let them walk around to the other 25 students desks anymore, so how can I do it so that everyone gets to see the item and it moves along faster???

Ideas?

Thank you so much!

Stephanie

Old 01-20-2009, 08:26 PM
Rookie

Art Teacher
Well, being a high school art teacher, i've never done a show and tell... But i remember when i was in first grade, my teacher had a show and tell where everyday a different student would bring something in, several items if they wanted. We had to bring something that started with a specific letter. The first student had to bring A, the second had to bring B, and so on. However, they had to keep the item concealed, and had to give clues to the class about what it was until they guessed it.

I only remember this because i had the letter C, and i brought in a brass kettle.

I remember having a lot of fun with it.
Old 01-20-2009, 08:27 PM
Aficionado

USA
2nd Grade Teacher
I do a show and share during snack time. Multi-tasking is the way to go! One student gets a turn each day, and I send a calendar home at the beginning of each month (sometimes I have to double-up, but no big deal).