A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Montessori

Old 11-29-2008, 08:26 AM
Rookie

malaysia
Montessori Teacher
how to handle "naughty" children? HELP!!!

hi, im a new montessori teacher and i have recently had two additions to my class of 4(i only had four since jan - nov). Its a mixed age class but most of the kids are 3 and 5 yrs.

The 2 new kids are twins. They're 3 going on 4yrs. They don't talk much, prefering to make sounds and point to whatever it is they want.

Also they don't listen! Despite me telling them and the whole group the ground rules during circle time these 2 just ignore me! They hardly ever sit down to listen to a story or participate in nursery rhymes. They also refuse to do any coloring. and when they take an activity they just walk off without putting it away. i've tried reminding them but they adamantly say no.

currently they're wreaking havoc in my class!

can anyone tell me how to "discipline" them? ( i don't do corporal punishment tho that is usually done in my country)

with my first four i'd tell them what they did was wrong (beating other kids) why it was wrong and then tell them to stand away from the other kids (usually at a wall or a corner) and think about it. That really worked with them. but not with the twins...

are there any other ways?

Old 11-30-2008, 05:57 PM
Companion

Casa Directress