A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 10-18-2008, 01:15 PM
Connoisseur

Special Education Teacher
New Jersey APA (state alternative testing) help

I am new to New Jersey and this will be my first year with the APA alternative test. I did the TAKS ALT with my students in TX and it was much more realistic. The kids were allowed to have access/pre-requisite skills. The APA requires the kids to basically do EXACT grade level stuff.

I teach in a severe to profound autism classroom. I have one student who is my most profound student. I need help coming up with an activity to meet this standard:

Choose the graphic organizers that clearly represent the information from the text (e.g. given 3 basic story webs with identical formats but different information, match the story just read to the best web)

The problem is, his attention span is very short. He cannot read. He uses PECS to communicate as he is non-verbal.

I came up with one activity, where I would read a quick story and then give him two choices of what the story was about (they would be teacher made story webs with a BIG picture in the middle that was a picture of a FIRE TRUCK that had to do with the FIRE TRUCK story we just read... and the other choice will be something totally random like a BANANA in the middle of the story web or something.)

I have to come up with another activity that is different from that. It can't just be different content, it has to be a different activity.

Anyone with APA/Alternative Testing experience care to chime in? I've come up with some pretty creative things to meet the grade level standards, but it's even TOUGHER in NJ because you can't do access skills (why would we want to make it FUNCTIONAL for the child????)