A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Middle School / Junior High

Old 10-16-2008, 11:13 PM
Rookie

going to teach middle school
Exclamation HELP! What do you think of Frankenstein for middle school?

I am doing a project in one of my classes at my university and I need a book to teach...would Frankenstein be too difficult for maybe 7th grade? It sort of goes with what else I am doing, so if there is a way I could teach it and have it be less difficult or if it is not difficult for that grade level, let me know! I am really new at this.

Thanks!

Old 10-17-2008, 05:31 AM
Connoisseur

Illinois
7th Grade LA
It's a pretty hard book. In my school, the 8th grade gifted LA class reads it SOME years, depending on the kids. I know I read that book as a freshman in college. Granted, it has been about 20 years, so I don't remember details about it.
Old 10-17-2008, 07:53 AM
Rookie

Unhappy frustrated

yeah I read it my freshman year, too. Is there any way to use SOME of the book? How did they teach it to the 8th grade at your school? OR...do you know any other types of books that I could use? My project is hard to explain..its really a science project turned in to a language arts project. We have to use genetics, and since I am not going in to science, my professor said I could make it a language arts project instead and RELATE it to genetics. That part was fine for me, but we have to incorporate 5 TEKS as well. That is why I decided to use a book as a side part to my original activity, which was to make a monster using a flip of a coin to determine certain traits and then to write a story about their own monster's life after it was created...