A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Preschool

Old 10-09-2008, 11:54 PM
Comrade

PA
preK-5 sub teacher/preK-12 sub aide
Show and Tell ideas?

I am a new teacher, teach 2.5 year olds. I like the idea of show n tell, but my first one last month was not very sucessful. I told the parents to bring pictures and anything else that their children like, a toy or something.
So, one boy brought a car, and that wasn't very bad, but another girl brought a doll and that WAS bad. Another girl wanted to play with it, too, and there was some fighting (the girl who brought the doll has a habit to hurt others). So then, I had a very hard time convincing her to put that doll back in the bag.

SO, now when I have a new show n tell on the calendar, I want to ask the parents not to send any more toys. But I am blank about what else to suggest.
BTW, my daughter attends the same preschool (and she is the same age), and I don't really know what to send for her either (except for toys, which I'm reluctant to do after my own negative experience). So, I need some ideas, please!

Old 10-10-2008, 12:42 AM
Fanatic

Washington
Early Childhood Teacher
My favorite way is to send an intentionally small box (smaller than a VCR tape box) and tell the family to include something small and write three clues about what is on the inside. Then they are focused more on the clues than the item itself. The child reads or has the clues read and the box is opened. Then the item is sent to the backpack since it is "so small we wouldn't want to lose it".
Old 10-11-2008, 09:39 AM
Novice

Preschool Teacher
Here are some more ideas: Baby picture, something from nature, piece of artwork, favorite holiday decoration, pictures from a vacation, card from a family member who lives far away, favorite picture book, etc.

BTW: I agree with NO TOYS for show & tell.