A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Substitute Teachers

Old 10-07-2008, 08:31 PM
Cohort

some where out there
Special Education Teacher
RSP Classroom management HELP!!!!!!!!!!

I am long term subbing in a RSP K-5 and so is the substitute para a long term sub!

Two groups are wonderful!

The other two almost had me in tears today!

here is their behavior

The 4th grade intervention group refused to do anything. They told me they will not listen because I am a substitute teacher. One student told me she wanted to kill herself after I followed the classroom management program. They do bank books I deducted $2.00 from it and she was upset. I started a higher rate of reinforcement to see if that would work. I brought down a few games that are reinforcing to play.

The fifth grade group knows I do not speak spanish so they come in and do not listen to anything. At one point I walked over and told them I would call the principle and that got them to follow along for the last five minutes. I give them money for the bank books. They give it back to me and tell me they are paying in advance for not behaving! Any advice help??? Behavior is getting worse each day. I have not been able to get much accomplished. They talk in spanish the whole time. All I here is your a sub. I tried to have something for them to do as they walk in the door but they are refusing to do it!!!

I've been told that I would get a new position opening up at the school. To tell the truth I am ready to quit almost walked out in tears today!

It has been a disaster those two groups If the principle saw it that out of control I'm afraid

THANKS !!!!!

Old 10-08-2008, 05:36 AM
Comrade

United States
Substitute Teacher