A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Kindergarten

Old 09-20-2008, 09:53 AM
Devotee

Florida
combo K/1st
Grading in Kindergarten

I know some of you do not "grade" in Kindergarten but we are required to use "ABC" grades on report cards. Please help!!
How many papers do you grade & record & how many oral evaluations in each subject area per grading period? Do you grade in Social Studies & Science? Our curriculum doesn't really have any "worksheets" to grade in SS & Sci, do you make up your own tests for these subjects? Is there a site for help with this? I would also appreciate any help with a report card. We use the ABEKA curriculum but not their report card. This is my first year in K and I would like to revamp what was used in the past.

Old 09-20-2008, 10:29 AM

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
We do not give out papers to grade. We do grade on the reports cards according to the standards set and where they fall on a rubric we made as a K team district wide.
Old 09-20-2008, 06:43 PM
Novice

New Jersey
Kindergarten Teacher
I also use the abeka curriculum. I put a good, very good, satisfactory, or needs improvement grade on every paper that they get. I know it's a lot but I find I can keep better track of them that way, and it shows the parents how well their kids are doing. When the test start up I consider an "A" the same as a very good and a "B" the same as a good and so on. Our report cards don't have science and social studies grades so I don't keep track of them as much. However, marking everything is really for the parents benifit and my own if I'm questioned on a grade (I never have been, just in case). I also use general observation as a big part of the grade.
Old 09-21-2008, 06:14 AM
Devotee

Florida
combo K/1st