A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 08-31-2008, 09:30 PM
Novice

Special Education Teacher
Transition Between Classes/Subjects

Hello,

I need your ideas or advice on this. This is my first time having my own classroom, and I do not know exactly how to make a transition between classes/subjects for students easy and smooth.

I assigned a colour for each subject, so each student will have folders and notes which are coordinated with a subject colour. I am also planning to go through how to organize a desk drawer and to put a poster which shows how to organize it on the wall as a reminder.

I am worried that even after these things implemented, students may take a long time to find folders and notes and waste some instruction time.

Can somebody give me some ideas or advice on this? My first day is the 2nd, and I know the importance of establishing routines and structures. Please help!

LonGuy

Old 09-01-2008, 08:46 AM
Comrade

California
Mod/Severe Teacher
The first few attempts at anything new with our students takes more time then we anticipated. I always tell my student teachers to plan for more then they think they can get done in a period and expect that you'll only get to half but it's better to have more ready then to not be ready.

As for your routine, good job with the color coding. The first few times will take twice as long as you'd like since you will be walking them through it.