A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Kindergarten

Old 08-27-2008, 05:57 PM
Rookie

North Carolina
Kindergarten Teacher
Brain Breaks/Energizers

Hi everyone,

I have a very active group (who doesn't, lol) and am looking for some fun brain breaks or energizers. I have taught for seven years but this is my first year in kindergarten so a lot of the strategies I've used in the past are not age appropriate. Over the last few days, I've used several songs to get the kids up and moving but I was hoping that you all had other good ideas or new songs to share.

Thanks for your help!

Old 08-27-2008, 07:09 PM
Habitué

WV
Kindergarten Teacher
Yes! I know what you mean...my poor children are ready to go home after lunch. The afternoons are sooooo long! We've been singing head, shoulders, knees and toes...get in a circle and pass a ball -have the children say their name, hot potato, tooty ta (Dr. Jean), going on a bear hunt... My brain is fried now...if I think of more I'll let you know.
Old 08-27-2008, 07:47 PM
Companion

Oklahoma
1st Grade Teacher
Frog Street Press has a new cd from Marty Shelby ( I think ). The CD is called "Don't Eat Cactus Cookies". Anyway he has a great song called 'Brain Break'. We love it.

Last edited by repete8; 08-28-2008 at 05:44 PM. Reason: add name of cd
Old 08-28-2008, 05:37 PM
Companion

Maine
Kindergarten Teacher
http://esl.about.com/od/englishlesso...a/braingym.htm

Here is some info on Brain Gym (www.braingym.com). I believe there are some videos on youtube- though I haven't viewed them yet.
Old 08-28-2008, 08:41 PM
Companion

Texas
6th Grade Teacher
Well when I see my kids getting restless in circle time, I put on "fun songs"
Five Little Monkeys
Mother Gooneybird
Tarzan

Silly songs they like and let them be silly for about 2 minutes, they love it
Hope this helps
Old 09-01-2008, 05:51 PM
Rookie