A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Middle School / Junior High

Old 07-17-2008, 03:12 PM
Rookie

7th grade ELA interview....Help!

Hello everyone,

I am really hoping that someone can give me some advice. I am a new grad and just passed Generalist Ec-4 and 4-8 exams as well as sped......needless to say that I am now in pursuit of a teaching job. I am really hoping for a middle school position. I have an interview for 7th grade Lang. arts position and want to do my best because this is the position I have been waiting for. I have interviewed for a few other positions and don't feel that I did well so I want to be very prepared for this 7th grade position. I have worked with the sped department as a teacher's assistant, but never in middle school so any advice would help...

Thanks

Old 07-18-2008, 07:05 PM
Companion

Kentucky, USA
8th Grade Teacher
When I was on my school's site-based council and participated in interviews, I always asked the question...If I came in your classroom on any given day, what would I see

I just wanted to know what kinds of language activities might be happening. Would students be doing a lesson from a textbook? Or would they be learning fundamentals of using language in various forms and in context?

It was important for me to know that a candidate would not rely too heavily on a textbook and that students would be applying what they were learning to real-life language activities, tasks.

Last edited by kyblue07; 07-18-2008 at 07:06 PM. Reason: spelling error
Old 07-19-2008, 01:04 PM
Rookie

Thank you so much for your input. This is the kind of advice I really need. Since this will be my first year teaching, I feel clueless as to what they want to hear in the interview. Again, thank you so much.
Old 07-19-2008, 02:33 PM
Companion

Kentucky, USA
8th Grade Teacher