A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Elementary Education Archives

Old 07-18-2004, 08:31 PM
Comrade

Texas
Primary Elementary Teacher
Smile Elementary Student Government Programs

Hello!
I am a second grade teacher who will be starting a new student government program in my school. I am looking for ideas about how to get off to a successful start and how to keep the program going all year. I shadowed a teacher who did this when I student taught, but I am at a loss of how to start the program off. Thank you for your advice/suggestions/encouragement!
Nancy
2nd grade

Old 07-19-2004, 06:51 AM
pkm

Smile teacher

I ran student council at my school for 2 years. I had 4-5th graders. each class voted for 2 representatives each semester. We did community service by collecting food for the food pantry, coats for the homeless, raised money through raffles to buy books for hospital children. We had a recycling progam for used ink cartridges and paper. Promoted fun days like hat day, slipper day, etc. to raise money for plant-a-promise anti drug program, and for other charity. Good luck and have fun. The kids will have their own great ideas too!
Old 07-19-2004, 11:01 AM
Fanatic

Broward County Florida
I happened to have had NONE as elementary (the school patrols were the 'leaders') but once i hit middle and senior high, I ran each year with my twin sister as a running mate.
7th grade she was pres, I was vice
8th grade, i was pres, she was vice
9th grade, she was pres, I was vice
10th grade, I was pres, she was vice
11th grade, she was pres, I was vice
12th grade, I was pres, and she was on senate