A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Second Grade

Old 04-15-2008, 03:18 PM
Novice

california
Big Smile 2nd grade interview tips?

Hi,

This is my first year of teaching and I'm actually teaching kindergarten at a private school, but hope to transfer to a public. A friend of mine told me there would be an opening for second grade at that school. I have never taught 2nd, so I'm wondering how I should prepare besides having a resume/cover letter and lesson plans (should I include kinder lesson plans or make some specifically for 2nd grade?).

I am not totally sure about classroom management systems for second grade. I tried using a card system for kinder, but I didn't really like it. I think I'd probably make management on an individual basis, but I don't know if this is practical for 2nd grade?

What are you opinions on this, or any tips would be fantastic!

Thank you! I always get such great advice on the forums!

Old 04-15-2008, 03:42 PM
Phenom

Arkansas, USA
2nd Grade All-Boy Teacher
I would include a lesson plan for both grade levels. Your managment system will also work with 2nd grade if you want to keep it. I would get a few ideas in your head so you know what to say for an interview. I do a stick system. It's kind of a individual system. Students pull sticks for any rule infractions. One stick is a warning; 2 equals 5 minutes off recess; 3 equals 10 minutes off recess; 4 equals whole recess and note home; 5 or more equals whole recess, note/call home, and conference with the vice principal. I have a bb dedicated to it :

The sticker charts take about 2 minutes to keep up with each morning. The students get excited when it's time to take home. When a new month starts, anyone who hasn't had a blue or red ticket (time off recess) the whole month gets into my Lunch Bunch (they eat with me in the classroom).